Hockey legend Mario Lemieux is selling his $22 million estate, Château Fleur de Lys — complete with 17 fireplaces, a spa and home theatre — on the shores of Lake Tremblant in Quebec.

“Today, the location of it cannot be reproduced. It’s impossible to build such a nice set up with the southwest orientation that he has. That land doesn’t exist anymore,” says Engel & Völkers real estate broker Michel Naud.

It took a total of seven years to finish the property, from the time Lemieux purchased three lots to when the chateau was completed.

The 17,000-square-foot estate has wood beams imported from a castle in India, and its railings, stairs, light fixtures and chandeliers were made by designers Arte de Mexico in California.

There are eight bedrooms, 13 bathrooms and a guest house on the five-acre lot.

“Even with the local markets like Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa, we’re really attracting a lot more people now that are discovering our region — not just for skiing but a lot more that it offers,” said Naud.

The estate is designed for entertaining year round. For summer months, its location by the lake is idyllic and provides stunning scenery. The pool area has various places for lounging as well as an outdoor shower. In the winter, the Mont Tremblant ski resort is nearby.

“It has everything. It’s super well-equipped,” said Naud, adding that there’s a cigar room, various dining areas and a pizza kitchen.

“It’s a resort within a resort,” he said. “It’s a property that once you get there, you don’t really need to get out to enjoy yourself, unless you want to go skiing steps away.”

As for the real estate market in Mont Tremblant, Naud said it hasn’t been affected by the increase of interest rates or inflation elsewhere.

“Even, sad to say, the war (in Ukraine) right now is not influencing what’s happening here,” he said. “Maybe it will change, but the last two years of COVID have created this type of … a madness for real estate over here. It’s very aggressive. It’s a lot of requests, a lot of potential buyers.”

Take a tour of the property.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/6wutgCSgDrg" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

By id3tech

La légende du hockey Mario Lemieux vend son domaine de 22 millions de dollars, le Château Fleur de Lys - doté de 17 cheminées, d'un spa et d'un home cinéma - sur les rives du lac Tremblant au Québec.

"Aujourd'hui, l'endroit où il se trouve ne peut être reproduit. C'est impossible de construire un si bel ensemble avec l'orientation sud-ouest qu'il a. Ce terrain n'existe plus", explique Michel Naud, courtier immobilier chez Engel & Völkers.

Il a fallu sept ans au total pour terminer la propriété, depuis l'achat des trois terrains par Lemieux jusqu'à l'achèvement du château.

Le domaine de 17 000 pieds carrés possède des poutres en bois importées d'un château en Inde, et ses rampes, escaliers, luminaires et lustres ont été fabriqués par les designers d'Arte de Mexico en Californie.

Il y a huit chambres à coucher, 13 salles de bain et une maison d'invités sur le terrain de cinq acres.

"Même avec les marchés locaux comme Montréal, Toronto, Ottawa, nous attirons vraiment beaucoup plus de gens maintenant qui découvrent notre région - pas seulement pour le ski, mais pour tout ce qu'elle offre", a déclaré Naud.

Le domaine est conçu pour recevoir toute l'année. Pour les mois d'été, son emplacement au bord du lac est idyllique et offre un paysage magnifique. La zone de la piscine dispose de plusieurs endroits pour se prélasser ainsi que d'une douche extérieure. En hiver, la station de ski de Mont Tremblant est toute proche.

"Il y a tout. C'est super bien équipé", a déclaré Naud, ajoutant qu'il y a une salle de cigares, plusieurs salles à manger et une pizzeria.

"C'est une station dans une station", a-t-il ajouté. "C'est une propriété qui, une fois que vous y êtes, n'a pas vraiment besoin de sortir pour s'amuser, sauf si vous voulez aller skier à quelques pas."

Quant au marché immobilier de Mont Tremblant, Naud a déclaré qu'il n'a pas été affecté par l'augmentation des taux d'intérêt ou de l'inflation ailleurs.

"Même, malheureusement, la guerre (en Ukraine) en ce moment n'a pas d'influence sur ce qui se passe ici", a-t-il dit. "Peut-être que cela va changer, mais les deux dernières années de COVID ont créé ce type de... folie pour l'immobilier par ici. C'est très agressif. Il y a beaucoup de demandes, beaucoup d'acheteurs potentiels."

Faites une visite guidée de la propriété.

Par id3tech